Tuesday, 25 March 2014


I expect you to support me Mr Lipumba why you resigned from the committee !This prompted CUF chairman and special rep for allied opposition parties, Ibrahim Lipumba, to reject his appointment to the steering committee, saying he felt Mr Sitta was “using him” to create the illusion of neutrality.“I can’t be part of the steering committee,” said Mr Lipumba. “I don’t intend to be used as bait - to legitimize] claims that ‘a leading opposition leader’ is part of this committee.”

Lets learn from Tunisia the ruiling Enahda Party claimed credit for creating new constitution but in Tanzania teh ruling party it seem will not have this legacy .Constituent Assembly members from the ruling CCM were yesterday elected to chair 12 of the 14 CA committees.Twelve CCM cadres were elected vice chairpersons.The CA Standing Orders and Special Privileges Committee elected Mr Pandu Ameir Kificho as chairman while Dr Suzan Komba was elected vice chairperson.  Mr Ameir is also Speaker of the Zanzibar House of Representatives.   Former Attorney General and CCM MP for Bariadi West Andrew Chenge is the chairman for the Drafts Committee and his deputy is Mgeni Hassan Juma.   This means that CCM diehards make up 85.7 per cent of the assembly’s Steering Committee, whose leader is CA chairman Samuel Sitta. In Committee Number One, Ms Ummy Ally Mwalimu, a CCM Special Seats MP, emerged the winner.
 The committee’s vice chairman is another CCM cadre who is also the deputy minister for Health and Social Welfare, Dr Seif Suleiman Rashid.  Former Defence Minsiter Shamsi Vuai Nahodha is the chairman of Committee Number Two. The vice chairperson in is former Natural Resources and Tourism minister Shamsa Mwangunga. In Group Number Three, Dr Francis Michael of the University of Dar es Salaam’s Staff Assembly (Udasa) emerged victorious. He will be assisted by Ms Fatma Mussa Juma, who comes from Special Interest Group in Zanzibar.
 Another CCM diehard and Simanjiro MP Christopher Ole Sendeka is the chairman of Group Number Four. Dr Sira Ubwa Mamboya, a CCM politician from the Zanzibar House of Representatives, will be the vice chairperson. In Group Number Five, the chairmanship went to CUF’s Hamad Rashid while his deputy is the CCM MP for Nkenge, Ms Assumpter Mshama. In Group Six, the chairmanship went to Bunda MP and Minister of State in the President’s Office (Social Relations and Coordination) Stephen Wasira. He will be assisted in the vice chairmanship position by another CCM stalwart, Dr Maua Daftari.In Group Number Seven, the chairmanship went to another CCM politician and MP for Mlalo, Brigadier General (rtd) Hassan Ngwilizi, leaving another CCM politician, Ms Waride Bakar Jabu, clinching the vice chairmanship position. Deputy Speaker of Parliament Job Ndugai is the chairman for Group Number Eight while a nominated CA member from Zanzibar, Ms Biubwa Yahya Othman is the group’s vice chairperson.  In Group Number Nine, a CCM Special Seats legislator Ms Kidawa Hamid Salehe was elected chairperson. Her deputy is the Sengerema MP and former Energy and Minerals minister William Ngeleja
Another CCM politician and long-serving Special Seats MP, Ms Anna Abdallah, is the chairperson for Group Number 10. She will be assisted by a member of the Zanzibar House of Representatives on the CCM ticket, Mr Salmin Awadh Salmin.  CCM firebrand politician and MP for Same East Anne Kilango Malecela is the chairperson for Group Number 11. Ms Malecela’s deputy is another CCM politician and MP for Kikwajuni in Zanzibar, Mr Yusuf Masauni. The chairmanship of the twelfth and last committee went to former CCM politician and MP for Sumbawanga Urban Paul Kimiti, nominated into the CA on the ticket of Non-Governmental Organisations. Another CCM politician and deputy minister for Industry, Trade and Marketing in the Revolutionary Government of Zanzibar, Thuwayba Kisasi is the committee’s vice chairperson.

No comments: