Thursday, 6 October 2016

What we can Learn from Kenya election commission reform ?

President Uhuru Kenyatta has announced vacancies for the positions of chairperson and eight commissioners at the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission -IEBC ,a day after the current commissioners tendered their resignation.. Jubilee and CORD will nominate two members each to the panel that will nominate new electoral agency commissioners.
The law states IEBC should have seven commissioners from the current nine,he list of persons to recruit new commissioners of Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) was completed after all three groups mandated by law submitted their names to the Parliamentary Service Commission (PSC) for onward transmission to President Uhuru Kenyatta for appointment. The ruling Jubilee coalition became the last entity to give its names, nominating lawyers Evans Monari and Mary Caren Kigen-Sorobit to the panel.

 The two joined Ogla Karani and Justice Tom Mbaluto who were last week nominated by the Opposition Coalition for Reforms and Democracy (CORD). "On behalf of the Jubilee coalition, this is to submit the two names of our proposed nominees for appointment into the selection panel contemplated under the IEBC Act," read a letter written by the coalition and addressed to the Senate Clerk Jeremiah Nyegenye, who is also the Secretary of the Parliamentary Service Commission (PSC). Those earlier nominated by the religious bodies are the Rev Canon Peter Karanja (National Council of Churches of Kenya General, Prof Abdulghafur El-Busaidy (Supreme Council of Kenyan Muslims), and Bernadette Musundi (Catholic Church).

No comments: